Japanese Cars

Subaru Chiffon Grade Guide 2026: L vs G vs R vs RS vs TRY Explained (Fresh September 2026 Update)

September 26, 2026
10 views
10 min read

Subaru Chiffon Grade Guide: L vs G vs R vs RS vs TRY — All Differences Explained

Subaru's super-height kei wagon just received a safety-focused update — literally days before this guide was written. Here's exactly how the five-grade Chiffon lineup breaks down, what the pillarless "Miracle Open Door" actually offers at each level, and what changed on September 10, 2026.

📅 Current Model: Since July 2019 (aligned with Daihatsu Tanto's 4th generation), design update October 2022, TRY added 2024, latest update September 10, 2026 🚗 Grades: L · G · R · RS · TRY 🇯🇵 Japan Domestic Market — 660cc Kei Super-Height Wagon 🚪 Pillarless "Miracle Open Door," Standard on Every Grade

Breaking: A Safety-Focused Update Just Landed (September 10, 2026)

Subaru announced an updated Chiffon on September 10, 2026 — roughly a week and a half before this guide's publication, and ten days after its Daihatsu Tanto donor car received its own equivalent update (August 31, 2026). The headline change is a significant evolution of the Smart Assist driver-support suite, alongside wider availability of adaptive cruise control functionality across the range. Subaru's own messaging confirms the pillarless Miracle Open Door — Chiffon's signature feature — continues unchanged through this update, preserving the easy-boarding advantage for small children, elderly passengers, and anyone carrying bulky items.

What Is the Subaru Chiffon?

Chiffon is Subaru's badge-engineered version of the Daihatsu Tanto, Daihatsu's segment-defining "super-height wagon" kei car. It first launched in December 2016, based on the third-generation Tanto, and filled a gap in Subaru's own lineup — Subaru had previously sold the Lucra, an OEM version of a Tanto Exe derivative, but discontinued it in 2015. Chiffon marked Subaru's return to this specific vehicle category. The current generation aligned with Tanto's own July 2019 full model change, received a design update alongside Tanto's own October 2022 refresh, and gained the Chiffon TRY crossover-styled special model in 2024 — Chiffon's answer to the Tanto FunCross.

The Miracle Open Door — Chiffon's Defining Feature, Standard Across the Range

Every Chiffon grade, from base L to top RS, includes the Miracle Open Door: a pillarless design on the passenger side that, combined with the rear sliding door, creates one continuous, unobstructed opening with no center pillar in the way. This is directly inherited from Tanto's own signature feature, and Subaru pairs it on most grades with what it calls the "Miracle Walk-Through Package" — combining the pillarless door with long-slide front seats (driver's seat sliding up to 540mm, front passenger seat up to 380mm), letting passengers move between the front and rear of the cabin without stepping outside, useful in bad weather or tight parking spaces.

Grade Lineup at a Glance

Grade Price (JPY, tax incl., 2WD) Price (JPY, tax incl., 4WD) WLTC Fuel Economy
L ¥1,496,000 ¥1,622,500 Not separately published; expected to align closely with G given the shared naturally aspirated engine
G ¥1,661,000 ¥1,782,000 22.6 km/L (2WD) / 20.8 km/L (4WD)
R ¥1,914,000 ¥2,035,000 21.7 km/L (2WD) / 20.8 km/L (4WD)
RS ¥2,057,000 ¥2,178,000 Not separately published; expected to align closely with R
TRY ¥1,853,500 ¥1,974,500 21.7 km/L (2WD) / 20.8 km/L (4WD)

Prices per Subaru's official Japan-market pricing, current as of the September 2026 update. Unlike its sibling Stella (which offers a dedicated turbo grade), Chiffon's current lineup does not include a turbo engine option — all five grades use the same naturally aspirated engine, differentiated by equipment rather than powertrain.

Full Grade Breakdown

L — Entry Grade

From ¥1,496,000 (2WD)

  • Miracle Open Door, standard (as on every grade)
  • Power-folding, body-colored door mirrors, linked to keyless access
  • UV-cut glass across front quarter, front door, rear door, rear quarter, and rear gate
  • Full LED headlamps with clearance lamps and auto light
  • Multi-information display
  • Keyless access with push-button start
  • Automatic air conditioning (push-button)
  • POWER mode selector switch
  • Navigation-ready upgrade pack
  • Full fabric seats, water-repellent treatment
  • Front separate seats
  • Rear seat split long-slide (240mm, with a cargo-room-side slide lever)
  • Front passenger long-slide (380mm)
  • Shopping hooks, adjustable two-level cargo board, cargo-side utility hooks

Even at entry level, L is genuinely well-equipped — full LED lighting, keyless push-start, and automatic climate control are all standard, a reflection of how competitive this kei segment has become.

G — Mid Grade

From ¥1,661,000 (2WD)

  • Hood garnish
  • 360° Super UV & IR-cut glass, an upgrade from L's UV-cut-only glass
  • Power sliding door, left side
  • Passenger-side easy closer
  • Tilt steering
  • TFT color multi-information display
  • Electric parking brake with auto brake hold
  • Rear heater duct
  • Front bench seat
  • Driver and passenger seat heaters
  • Driver's long-slide seat (540mm, with seatback lever)
  • Driver's seat lifter
  • Retractable rear door sunshade
  • USB socket (driver's side, 1-port power)
  • Retractable seatback tables (driver and passenger), driver's seatback pocket

R — Upper Style Grade

From ¥1,914,000 (2WD)

R is presented as its own distinct specification rather than a simple step up from G:

  • Miracle Open Door, standard
  • Large aero bumpers, front and rear
  • Side sill spoiler
  • Large front grille
  • Power-folding, body-colored door mirrors
  • Full LED headlamps with auto light
  • LED liner, LED fog lamps
  • LED rear combination lamps (LED stop lamps)
  • Power sliding doors on both sides — left and right, a step beyond G's left-only configuration
  • Drive Assist Illumination (eco-drive-assist lighting)
  • Keyless access with push-button start
  • Electric parking brake with auto brake hold
  • Automatic air conditioning (push-button)
  • Leather-look × fabric seats
  • Driver's long-slide seat (540mm, with lever)
  • USB socket (driver's side)
  • 14-inch cut-and-polished aluminum wheels

RS — Top Grade

From ¥2,057,000 (2WD)

All R-grade equipment, plus:

  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel with silver accent — R's is not leather
  • Leather-wrapped shift lever
  • 15-inch cut-and-polished aluminum wheels, up from R's 14-inch
  • Smart Cruise Pack — the adaptive cruise control and related driver-assistance package, exclusive to this grade among the standard lineup

TRY — Crossover-Styled Special Model

From ¥1,853,500 (2WD)

Chiffon's outdoor/active-lifestyle special model, positioned between G and R on price:

  • Full fabric seats, water-repellent treatment
  • Roof rails
  • Waterproof-treated rear seatback
  • USB socket (rear right side, 1-port power)
  • Cargo room lamp (side right and ceiling)

TRY mirrors the Tanto FunCross formula closely — an outdoor-styled special edition layered onto a mid-range equipment base, adding roof rails and weather-resistant trim rather than changing the core mechanical package.

Full Feature Comparison Table

Feature L G R RS TRY
DOORS          
Miracle Open Door ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Power sliding door (left) ✗ ✓ ✓ ✓ Varies by base spec
Power sliding door (right) ✗ ✗ ✓ ✓ Varies by base spec
EXTERIOR          
Wheels Standard Standard 14-in cut-and-polished alloy 15-in cut-and-polished alloy Standard
Aero bumpers, side sill spoiler ✗ ✗ ✓ ✓ ✗
Roof rails ✗ ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓
INTERIOR          
Seat material Full fabric, water-repellent Full fabric Leather-look × fabric Leather-look × fabric Full fabric, water-repellent
Steering wheel Standard Standard Standard Leather-wrapped Standard
Seat heaters (front) ✗ ✓ Not specified Not specified Not specified
Electric parking brake + auto brake hold ✗ ✓ ✓ ✓ Base-dependent
SAFETY & DRIVER ASSISTANCE          
Smart Assist (latest, post-Sept 2026) ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Smart Cruise Pack (adaptive cruise control) ✗ ✗ ✗ ✓ ✗

✓ = Standard/Available | ✗ = Not offered. Features sourced directly from Subaru's official grade pages (subaru.jp/chiffon), current through the September 2026 update.

What Changed in the September 10, 2026 Update

  • Smart Assist significantly evolved, per Subaru and Japanese automotive press coverage, with expanded detection and driver-support capability
  • Wider availability of adaptive cruise control functionality, following the same pattern as Tanto's own equivalent update ten days earlier
  • The pillarless Miracle Open Door continues unchanged, preserving Chiffon's core accessibility advantage
  • This update mirrors changes Daihatsu made to Tanto on August 31, 2026, which also introduced a new "Daily Tool" special edition and an X Special grade — though Chiffon's own grade structure (L/G/R/RS/TRY) remained the naming convention Subaru uses, distinct from Tanto's own grade names

Which Grade Should You Buy?

💴 Best for Lowest Cost

Choose L. Full LED lighting, keyless push-start, and automatic climate control are standard even at entry level — genuinely well-equipped for the price.

⭐ Best Value

Choose G. The left-side power sliding door, seat heaters, driver's long-slide seat, and electric parking brake with auto brake hold represent a substantial daily-usability jump over L.

🚪 Best for Full Sliding-Door Convenience and Style

Choose R. Both-side power sliding doors, LED fog lamps and rear combination lamps, aero bumpers, and leather-look seating make it a genuinely stylish, functional step up from G.

🏆 Best Overall Specification

Choose RS. The only grade with a leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift lever, the largest wheels, and the Smart Cruise Pack's adaptive cruise control — the most complete Chiffon available.

🏕️ Best for Outdoor-Themed Styling

Choose TRY if you want roof rails and weather-resistant interior trim at a price between G and R — Chiffon's answer to the Tanto FunCross.

Importing a Subaru Chiffon

For buyers sourcing a Chiffon from Japanese auction, a few identification points matter:

  • Power sliding door count is a fast way to narrow down grade: none means L, left-side only means G, both sides means R or RS.
  • A leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift lever, combined with 15-inch wheels, confirm RS — R uses the same body styling but keeps a standard (non-leather) wheel and 14-inch wheels.
  • Roof rails confirm TRY — no other current Chiffon grade includes them.
  • This is genuinely the same vehicle as the Daihatsu Tanto, sharing the Miracle Open Door, chassis, and most mechanical specification — cross-referencing Tanto information can be useful, though confirm Subaru-specific grade equipment independently, since Chiffon's grade names (L/G/R/RS/TRY) don't match Tanto's own naming.
  • Build date matters for the September 2026 update — cars built before this date will have the previous-generation Smart Assist calibration and different adaptive cruise control availability; confirm production date against the equipment sheet.
  • Chiffon does not currently offer a turbo grade, unlike its sibling Stella — a turbo-badged kei wagon claiming to be a Chiffon would be worth double-checking against the chassis data.

Always confirm the exact grade, drivetrain, build date relative to the September 2026 update, and accident history against the chassis number before bidding, since equipment details are easy to misread from auction photos alone. If you're bidding from overseas, running the chassis number through a Japanese auction sheet and history check before you commit is the safest way to confirm the car in front of you actually matches the grade it's listed under — that's exactly the kind of check we built JPChecker to make simple.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Subaru Chiffon the same as the Daihatsu Tanto? Essentially yes. Chiffon is a badge-engineered (OEM) version of the Daihatsu Tanto, sharing the pillarless Miracle Open Door, chassis, and most mechanical specification. Chiffon uses its own grade naming (L, G, R, RS, TRY) that doesn't directly match Tanto's own grade names.

What changed in the Chiffon's September 2026 update? Subaru significantly evolved the Smart Assist driver-support suite and expanded adaptive cruise control availability, following an equivalent update Daihatsu made to Tanto ten days earlier. The Miracle Open Door and core grade structure were unchanged.

What is the cheapest Subaru Chiffon grade? The L grade, priced from ¥1,496,000 (tax included) for the 2WD version.

Does the Chiffon have a turbo engine option? No, not in the current lineup. All five grades (L, G, R, RS, TRY) share the same naturally aspirated engine — unlike Chiffon's sibling Stella, which offers a dedicated turbo grade (ZS).

What is the Miracle Open Door? It's Chiffon's (and Tanto's) pillarless passenger-side door design, which combines with the rear sliding door to create one continuous, unobstructed opening — standard on every Chiffon grade, aimed at easier boarding for children, elderly passengers, or anyone carrying bulky items.

What is Chiffon TRY? An outdoor/active-lifestyle special model added in 2024, adding roof rails and weather-resistant interior trim to a mid-range equipment base — Chiffon's equivalent of the Daihatsu Tanto FunCross.

What is the difference between Chiffon R and RS? RS adds a leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift lever, upgrades from R's 14-inch to 15-inch wheels, and includes the Smart Cruise Pack (adaptive cruise control and related driver-assistance features), which R does not have. Both share the same core exterior styling, both-side power sliding doors, and leather-look seating.